Series Point Score

In addition to the individual point score for each event, NSW Rogaining runs a series Point Score. The purpose of the Series Point Score it to encourage people to compete in more events each year. It is also an opportunity to acknowledge those athletes that compete in multiple events and score highly in their competition categories.

The concept of a series point score was first run in 2013 where we ran a similar competition which was based on a person’s top five results. It was called “Rogainer of the Year” and was won by Nicole & Andrew Haigh who just happened to end with the same score.


In 2018 we tweaked the rules quite a bit, adding age sections, using your best three scores, and rating against the median rather than winning score. In 2019 we will further refine the rules, rewarding people who choose longer events.

The winners of each category and congratulate them as the best of class for 2018:

Women Under 23Jemma Duerden442
Men Under 23Keelan Birch678
WomenGill Fowler674
MenThomas Brazier694
Women VetToni Bachvarova583
Men VetGlenn Horrocks672
Women Super VetRobin Cameron432
Men Super VetMike Hotchkis635
Women Ultra VetKath Anderson291
Men Ultra VetWarwick Selby490

New Rule for 2109

We will run the Series Point Score again in 2019 with one rule change.

Two points will be given for each hour of the event duration you have entered.

For example, if you enter the NSW Championship (traditionally a 24 hour event) your score will be your teams % of the median team's score multiplied by 100 plus 48 points.

We have made this change for two reasons:

  1. To incent teams to attempt the longer events
  2. In 2018 it was actually easier to get a good score in the shorter events. The reality of rogaining is that really competitive teams gravitate towards the longer events and this makes the median score relatively higher. So if you were chasing a good score to bolster your rankings you greatly improved your chances of doing well by entering the shorter event where two events were on offer. The added duration points will level the playing field.

The Rules

The current rules, as at 1st Jan 2019, are here:

  1. Your best 3 events this calendar year will contribute to your overall point score.
  2. Your points are individual but earned as part of a team (unless the event accepts solo entries). For example you are a 57 year old woman competing in a mixed team. Your points will be awarded to you in the Women's Super Veteran category
  3. The points you earn for each event are calculated by taking your team’s score expressed as a % of the overall median score for that event (ignoring category).
  4. There will be the usual categories as per the rules of rogaining (no junior category, only under 23).
  5. For the purpose of this point score, you're only up against others6 in the category that is defined by your age and gender (i.e. A men's super veteran will not also compete in the open men's category, which is different to our usual rules for event).
  6. If you change category during the year your points roll to the older one. (i.e. you turn 55 during the year your cumulative score for the year gets moved to Men's or Women's Super Veterans.)
  7. A volunteer at an event will be awarded their average score for that year.
  8. Two points will be added to your score for each hour of the event duration you have entered.