The Paddy Pallin Rogaine Mixed Teams Trophy

[Trevor Gollan 14-Jun-2017]

One feature of the Paddy Pallin Rogaine is its history. 

Paddy initiated the “Paddy Pallin Orienteering Contest” in 1964 to encourage people to enjoy the bush with minimal impact and to practice and improve their navigation skills.  In 1988 it morphed into the Paddy Pallin Rogaine, organised by the NSW Rogaining Association, switching from a three to a six-hour format.

Over the last week I’ve had the Mixed Teams Trophy for a touch of maintenance, and it has pleasantly reinforced to me the tradition of Paddy’s inspired event.  Many “famous” names from the orienteering and rogaining community show up on the annual plaques.  Some are sadly not with us anymore but most are still active members of our navigation community.  And quite a few will be wandering the Arthursleigh property this weekend, exploring new countryside, keeping fit.

I’ve extracted below all the names from the Trophy.  There are some spelling mistakes on the plaques (eg. “L. Thompso” 1974) and I may have transcribed some incorrectly.  We don’t have entries for 1964-1966 which is a pity, but how special to have a trophy that has been active since 1967 – for 50 years!  The Mixed Teams concept also introduces other interesting, romantic stories, such as couples that appear later as a married team, or partnerships perhaps now separated.

Whose names will be added to the Mixed Teams Trophy this year?

Year 1st Place team 2nd Place Team
1967 Margot Cox, Gosta Lynga Johanna Hallmann, Mary Frazer
1968 L. Melmeith, T. Jordon S. Hope, I. Olson
1969 D. Willcox, K. Ritson E. Rasmanis, L. Melmeth
1970 A. O’Leary, P. Brett L. Melmeth, E. Rasmanis
1971 D. Munro, M. Munro, R. Preston D. Greenz, D. Mitchell
1972 E. Rasmanis, R. Rasmanis M. Munro, D. Mitchell
1973 W. Davies, R. Alsop
1974 R. Alsop, R. Adams L. Thompso, R. Bonny
1975 R. Alsop, R. Adams R. Bonny, P. Tuft
1976 T. Radford, A. Radford, C. Wilmott M. Wilmott, S. Kopriva
1977 A. & T. Radford R. Howe, M. Job, A. Blyth
1978 A. & T. Radford J. Kopriva, S. Kopriva, J. Willmott
1979 A. Blyth, P. Howe, M. Job, M. Main, A. Radford P. Arnold, J. Kopriva
1980 A. Lumsden, J. Bourne S. Tremont, B. Stow
1981 B. & D. van Netten, A. Tait M. Wilmot, H. Cane
1982 B. & D. van Netten K.R. Cameron, E. Cameron
1983 B. & D. van Netten A. Simson, L.Seidl
1984 A. & M. Darvodelsky V. &J.Rowe
1985 A. & M. Darvodelsky I. Jubov, Arnold
1986 A.& M. Darvodelsky J.& V. Hodsdon
1987 F. & J. Anderson, T. Page
1988 K. Saw, B. Van Netten, J. Ellis S. Clarke, J. LeCarpentier
1989 D. Van Netten, P. Creaser B. Van Netten, K. Saw, J. Ellis
1990 J. &V. Hodsdon S. Clarke, I. Diamond
1991 J. Le Carpentier, S. Clarke, M. Burton I. Dempsey, N. Holmes, A. Kingsland
1993 J. Parr, S. George A. Milburn, M. Billinghurst
1992 S. George, J. Parr K. & J. Anderson
1994 S. George, J. Parr N. Plunkett-Cole, G. Prosser, A. Simpson, P. Garran
1995 T. Landon-Smith, A. McMaster S. George, J. Parr
1996 T. Landon-Smith, A. McMaster S. Clarke, J. LeCarpentier
1997 Paula Hawtin, Paul Darvodelsky Simon George, Joanna Parr
1998 Sue Clarke, Chippy, Graeme Hill Asa Hedin, Tim Martniuk
1999 A. &N. Haigh T. Landon-Smith, A. McMaster
2000 R. Delaney, R. King T. Cogley, K. Small, J. Allport
2001 Ben Schultz, Michelle Scott Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2002 Andrew & Nicole Haigh Paul Batten, Bronwyn Lawton
2003 Tom Landon-Smith, Alina McMaster Chris Clausen, Rosemary King
2004 Tom Landon-Smith, Alina McMaster John Barnes, Mardi Beat, Andrew Perry
2005 Tom Landon-Smith, Alina McMaster John Barnes, Mardi Beat
2006 Mick Driscoll, Greig Scott, Jenny Scott Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2007 Robbie Preston, Paula Shingler Mark Freeman, Darleen Cheney, James Hayward
2008 Heather Logie, Mark McDonald Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2009 Andrew & Nicole Haigh Simon George, Paula Shingler
2010 Jess Baker, Richard Green Tasmin Barnes, Richard Robinson
2011 Glenn Horrocks, Lisa Grant Anthony Morgan, Kim Van Netten
2012 David Baldwin, Julie Quinn, Ben Greenwood Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2013 Gill Fowler, Joel Mackay Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2014 Carolyn Matthews, Malcolm Roberts Clare Lonergan, Kieran MacDonell
2015 David Baldwin, Julie Quinn Andrew & Nicole Haigh
2016 Joanna Sinclair, Philip Whitten Andrew & Nicole Haigh

Here’s some other interesting things about this trophy:

  • When the Paddy Pallin Orienteering Contest was conceived there were only two trophies: the Open and the Mixed categories.
  • It’s unusual in that (generally) the plaques record the top two We usually only show the winning team.

There’s one special feature that links the trophy to the 2017 Paddy Pallin Rogaine. 


It’s decorated with an old map and compass.

Phil Whitten, the coordinator and course setter for this year’s event, has noted that the map is actually part of the Arthursleigh property.  The map seems to be scaled at 1inch to the mile with 50ft contours, but the grid spacing doesn’t seem to be either half-mile or a km.

An interesting snippet of information, and a sneak peek at some of this year’s Paddy Pallin Rogaine course…


3 Replies to “The Paddy Pallin Rogaine Mixed Teams Trophy”

  1. Interesting history! I presume the map on the trophy was based on an army 1:63,360 map, in which case the grid spacing used was 1000 yards (3000 feet). Not really handy for orienteering or rogaining!

  2. I am sure that “L Thompso” 1974, was Lyn Thompson (now Lyn Williams) and R Bonny morphed into Robyn Tuft, who is amongst this years entries along with Peter, also listed in 1975.

  3. A nice reflection on the history of the Paddy and the relationships documented on the trophy. Paul and I came second in 2002 and married later that year. Andrew and Nicole Haigh get top marks for consistency!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *